Complete List: Lagos Assembly Declines Clearance of 17 Commissioner Nominees of Gov Sanwo-Olu

Complete List: Lagos Assembly Declines Clearance of 17 Commissioner Nominees of Gov Sanwo-Olu

  • Controversy erupted in the Lagos State House of Assembly on Wednesday, August 23, when lawmakers failed to clear 17 Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu commissioner nominees.
  • Things got more controversial when six former commissioners in the previous administration were also denied clearance yesterday.
  • In this short piece, rolled out the list of the 17 commissioner nominees who were denied clearance by the Lagos State parliamentarians.

Lagos, Alausa – The Lagos State Assembly was greeted with controversy when it declined 17 out of 39 commissioner nominees presented by Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu for his second term in office.

As reported by TheCable, six former commissioners were among the 17 declined by the state parliament at plenary on Wednesday, August 23.

Lagos, Commissioner, Nominees
At least six commissioner nominees in the previous administration were also not cleared by the Lagos Assembly.
Photo Credit: Babajide Sanwo-Olu, Gbenga Omotoso, Prof Akin Abayomi, Lagos State Assembly
Source: Facebook

They included Gbenga Omotoso (information and strategy), Akin Abayomi (health), Cecilia Dada (Women’s affairs and poverty alleviation), Olalere Odusote (energy resources), Folashade Adefisayo (education), and Sam Egube (economic planning and budget).

Read also

BREAKING: Lagos Assembly rejects 17 commissioners-nominees, details emerge

Others are Solape Hammond and Aramide Adeyoye.

PAY ATTENTION: Сheck out news that is picked exactly for YOU ➡️ find the “Recommended for you” block on the home page and enjoy!

It was gathered that only 22 nominees were cleared and confirmed by the lawmakers after the conclusion of yesterday’s screening.

Governor Sanwo-Olu submitted the list in the last week of July and was greeted with controversies following the dominance of Christian nominees.

It was gathered that the list contained 31 commissioner nominees who were Christians, and the remaining eight were Muslims.

List of uncleared commissioner nominees

1. Olumide Oluyinka

2. Rotimi Ogunwuyi

3. Seun Osiyemi

4. Aramide Adeyoye

5. Mosopefolu George

6. Solape Hammond

7. Olalekan Fatodu

8. Sam Egube

9. Bolaji Cecilia Dada

10. Rotimi Fashola

11. Olalere Odusote

12. Gbenga Omotosho

13. Barakat Bakare

14. Folashade Ambrose

Read also

Jubilation as President Tinubu makes fresh appointments

15. Yomi Oluyomi

16. Akin Abayomi

17. Folashade Adefisayo

Lagos: Former governorship candidate reacts to alleged lopsidedness in Sanwo-Olu’s commissioner-nominees

Meanwhile, criticism trailed the list of commissioners nominated by the Lagos state governor, Babajide Sanwo-Olu.

Some Muslims had described the composition of Sanwo-Olu’s nominees “as a continuation of the governor’s longstanding bias against Muslims in the state”.

But speaking to in an interview, Tope Abdurrazaq Balogun, a one-time governorship candidate and a practising Muslim, has a different perspective.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *