List of Governors Whose States Are Yet to Implement N30,000 Minimum Wage Emerges

List of Governors Whose States Are Yet to Implement N30,000 Minimum Wage Emerges

  • A trade union, the Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE), is not happy with the treatment of the country’s workers
  • NULGE condemned the action of several state governments over their non-implementation of the N30,000 minimum wage
  • The association is particularly upset with authorities in Zamfara state who it said didn’t even implement the N18,000 minimum wage

FCT, Abuja On April 18, 2019, former president, Muhammadu Buhari, signed the new minimum wage bill.

At the time, the Nigerian government said the bill makes it mandatory for employers of labour in both public and private organisations to pay N30,000 as minimum wage, Premium Times reported at the time.

Minimum wage/Minimum wage Nigeria
The NULGE has bemoaned the federal government’s unkept promise. Photo credit: Klaus Vedfelt
Source: Getty Images

4 years after Buhari signed new minimum wage bill, 16 Nigerian states have yet to comply

Read also

Court reveals date for Emefiele’s arraignment over alleged firearms possession

Be that as it may, the Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE) is fuming. In a communique read at the end of its National Executive Council (NEC) meeting held in Abuja on Thursday, July 20, NULGE raised the alarm about states that are yet to implement the N30,000 minimum wage.

PAY ATTENTION: Follow us on Instagram – get the most important news directly in your favourite app!

A Vanguard report noted the association’s concerns.

In the statement, NULGE branded Zamfara “the worst of all” the states – in terms of non-compliance with the minimum wage.

The communique partly reads:

“NULGE condemns the action of the state government of Cross River, Rivers, Anambra, Imo, Enugu, Kaduna, Kogi, Kwara, Adamawa, Sokoto, Yobe, Borno, Abia, Bayelsa, Gombe States for non-implementation of the N30,000 minimum wage.

“The worst of them all; Zamfara state, yet to implement even N18,000 minimum wage.”

Read also

25% FCT votes: President Tinubu’s camp fires Labour Party over ‘ridiculous’ stance

Consequently, the NULGE asked the government of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to increase the minimum wage by 300%, The Cable reported.

Check out the full list of governors (and their predecessors) whose states are yet to implement the minimum wage below:

1) Cross River (Ben Ayade/Bassey Otu)

2) Rivers (Nyesom Wike/Siminalayi Fubara)

3) Anambra (Prof. Charles Soludo)

4) Imo (Hope Uzodinma)

5) Enugu (Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi/Peter Mbah)

6) Kaduna (Nasir El Rufai/Uba Sani)

7) Kogi (Yahaya Bello)

8) Kwara (AbdulRahman AbdulRasaq)

9) Adamawa (Ahmadu Fintiri)

10) Sokoto (Aminu Tambuwal/Ahmad Aliyu)

11) Yobe (Mai Mala Buni)

12) Borno (Babagana Umara Zulum)

13) Abia (Alex Otti/Okezie Ikpeazu)

14) Bayelsa (Douye Diri)

15) Gombe (Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya)

16) Zamfara (Bello Matawalle/Dauda Lawal)

Tinubu to increase minimum wage? President makes new announcement

In a piece of related news, reported that President Bola Ahmed Tinubu revealed that there is a need to increase the national minimum wage to improve the living condition of Nigerians.

Tinubu made this call on Friday, June 2, 2023, during his meeting with governors under the umbrella of the All Progressives Congress (APC) at the presidential villa in Abuja.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *